Edita signs loan contract with the International Finance Corporation for USD 20 million to support expansion and growth opportunities in Egypt and the wider region

The seven-year, medium-term facility may be used to finance the group’s capital expenditure plan as well as growth opportunities in Egypt and across Edita’s growing regional footprint.

Edita Food Industries S.A.E. (EFID.CA on the Egyptian Exchange and EFIFq.L on the London Stock Exchange), a leader in the Egyptian packaged snack food market, secured USD 20 million in financing from the International Finance Corporation (IFC) to support the company’s growth plans. The USD 20 million represents the first tranche of the loan, with the contract including an option for a second tranche of an additional USD 10 million.

The seven-year, medium-term facility may be used to finance the group’s capital expenditure plan as well as growth opportunities in Egypt and across Edita’s growing regional footprint.

Commenting on facility, Edita Chairman and Managing Director Hani Berzi said: “We are proud to be joining hands with the IFC. Its financing is not just cost effective, but an endorsement of our robust corporate and industry fundamentals, coming as it does at the end of a nearly yearlong due-diligence process. We are actively exploring expansion opportunities both in Egypt and in our exciting expansion markets. Our goal in the medium term is clear: To solidify our dominant domestic position while growing into a regional snack food player.

Edita has substantially reduced its local currency debt position, as reflected in its declining net finance costs, leaving ample room in its capital structure to take on the IFC facility. Moreover, the cost of USD-denominated financing is substantially lower than an equivalent facility in local currency in what remains a high-interest-rate environment. Edita’s foreign-currency revenue stream simultaneously provides a natural hedge against the future cost of servicing and repaying USD debt.

Edita reported nearly 34% growth in gross exports in the first quarter of 2019, with exports as a percentage of total revenues growing to 8.7% from 7.2% in the same period last year. The company incorporated Edita Morocco earlier this year and launched its Freska wafer brand in the North African country, supporting it with advertising and marketing campaigns as well as digital and on-the-ground activations as Edita capitalizes on its joint venture with Dislog Group. Construction on Edita’s first manufacturing facility in Morocco is due to begin later this year.

“Finalizing this facility agreement and building a solid, long-term relationship with international organizations such as the IFC is a catalyst for the next phase in our growth story and opens up opportunities,” concluded Berzi.

—Ends—

إيديتا للصناعات الغذائية توقع عقد قرض مع مؤسسة التمويل الدولية بقيمة 20 مليون دولار بهدف دعم توسعات الشركة والاستفادة من فرص النمو في مصر والأسواق الإقليمية

وقد يتم استخدام القرض الذي تبلغ مدته سبع سنوات في تمويل النفقات الرأسمالية المخططة، وكذلك فرص تنمية أعمال الشركة عبر تعزيز نتائجها الأساسية أو تنفيذ التوسعات الجذابة في مصر والأسواق الإقليمية التي تعمل بها.

أعلنت اليوم شركة «إيديتا للصناعات الغذائية» (كود البورصة المصرية EFID.CA وبورصة لندن EFIFq.L) – الرائدة بصناعة الأغذية الخفيفة في مصر– عن تأمين تمويل متوسط الأجل بقيمة 20 مليون دولار كشريحة أولى من مؤسسة التمويل الدولية، وذلك بهدف دعم التوسعات المخططة بالشركة، علمًا بأن القرض قابل للزيادة بقيمة 10 مليون دولار اخري كشريحة ثانية.

وقد يتم استخدام القرض الذي تبلغ مدته سبع سنوات في تمويل النفقات الرأسمالية المخططة، وكذلك فرص تنمية أعمال الشركة عبر تعزيز نتائجها الأساسية أو تنفيذ التوسعات الجذابة في مصر والأسواق الإقليمية التي تعمل بها.

وفي هذا السياق أعرب المهندس هاني برزي رئيس مجلس الإدارة والعضو المنتدب لشركة «إيديتا للصناعات الغذائية»، عن اعتزازه باتفاقية التمويل المبرمة مع مؤسسة التمويل الدولية، حيث ان هذه الاتفاقية تعكس المردود الإيجابي على الشركة من حيث التكلفة والأسس القوية التي تنفرد بها ومكانتها السوقية الرائدة، علمًا بأن الفحص النافي للجهالة استغرق نحو عامً كامل. وأوضح برزي أن أهداف الشركة تتمثل في تعزيز مكانتها الرائدة التي تحظى بها في السوق المصري والأسواق الإقليمية، مشيرًا إلى أن إيديتا ستواصل دراسة واستحداث خطط التوسع الطموحة في مصر وغيرها من بلدان المنطقة.

وقد نجحت الشركة خلال الفترة الماضية في تقليص ديونها المقومة بالعملة المحلية بشكل ملحوظ، وهو ما يعكسه تراجع صافي تكاليف التمويل، وبالتالي تعزيز هيكل رأس المال، علاوة على ذلك، فان القرض يدعم الاستراتيجية التمويلية للشركة علمًا بأن الإيرادات التي تحققها إيديتا بالعملة الأجنبية ستعزز قدرتها على سداد القرض المقوم بالدولار الأمريكي.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن إيديتا رصدت نمو مبيعات أنشطة التصدير بمعدل سنوي 34% خلال الربع الأول من عام 2019، حيث مثلت 8.7% من إجمالي إيرادات الشركة مقابل 7.2% خلال نفس الفترة من العام السابق. ونجحت الشركة في تأسيس وتسجيل علامتها بدولة المغرب بداية العام الجاري بمقتضى شراكتها مع شركة “ديسلوج” المغربية، وذلك مع دعمها بإطلاق مختلف الحملات التسويقية والترويجية وغيرها من حملات الترويج عبر القنوات الإلكترونية ومنافذ البيع، علمًا بأنه من المقرر بدء الأعمال الإنشائية بمصنعها الجديد هناك خلال العام الجاري.

واختتم برزي أن إتمام الاتفاقية المبرمة وبناء العلاقات المثمرة مع كبرى المؤسسات مثل مؤسسة التمويل الدولية سيساهم في دعم مسيرة نمو إيديتا مع إتاحة المزيد من فرص الاستثمار الجذابة.

—نهاية البيان—